Home >Spells >

Force Cage

Force Cage Spell7

Evocation Force

Traditions arcane, occult

Cast [three-actions] material, somatic, verbal

Range 30 feet; Area 1 cube 20 feet on each side

Saving Throw Reflex; Duration sustained up to 1 minute

You create an immobile, invisible prison of sheer force. The cage is a 20-foot cube made of bands of force, each a half inch thick and a half inch apart, that extend to the Ethereal Plane. Each creature in the area where you create the cage must attempt a Reflex save. If such a creature fails, it becomes trapped inside the cage. If it succeeds, it’s pushed outside the cage into a space of its choice. If a creature in the area is too big to fit inside the prison, the spell automatically fails.

The cage has AC 10, Hardness 20, and 40 Hit Points, and it’s immune to critical hits and precision damage. A creature capable of passing through the space between the bars (typically a Tiny creature) can leave; all others are confined within. Attacks with a weapon too large to fit between the bars can’t pass through the cage, and the bars provide standard cover even against attacks that can pass through the gaps. Spells and breath weapons can pass through the cage uninhibited.

Force cage is immune to counteracting effects of its level or lower, but it is automatically destroyed by a disintegrate spell of any level, or by contact with a rod of cancellation or sphere of annihilation.

Section 15: Copyright Notice

Pathfinder Advanced Player’s Guide © 2020, Paizo Inc.; Authors: Amirali Attar Olyaee, Alexander Augunas, Kate Baker, Brian Bauman, Logan Bonner, Carlos Cabrera, James Case, Jessica Catalan, John Compton, Paris Crenshaw, Jesse Decker, Fabby Garza Marroquín, Steven Hammond, Sasha Laranoa Harving, Joan Hong, Nicolas Hornyak, Vanessa Hoskins, James Jacobs, Erik Keith, Lyz Liddell, Luis Loza, Ron Lundeen, Patchen Mortimer, Dennis Muldoon, Stephen Radney-MacFarland, Jessica Redekop, Mikhail Rekun, Alex Riggs, David N. Ross, Michael Sayre, Mark Seifter, Kendra Leigh Speedling, Jason Tondro, Clark Valentine, and Andrew White.