Home >


A ritual is an esoteric and complex spell that anyone can cast. It takes much longer to cast a ritual than a normal spell, but rituals can have more powerful effects.

Casting Rituals

When you take charge of a ritual, you are its primary caster, and others assisting you are secondary casters. You can be a primary caster for a ritual even if you can’t cast spells. You must know the ritual, and the ritual’s spell level can be no higher than half your level rounded up.

You must also have the required proficiency rank in the skill used for the ritual’s primary check (see Checks below), and as the primary caster, you must attempt this skill check to determine the ritual’s effects. The primary skill check determines the tradition.

Rituals do not require spell slots to cast. You can heighten a ritual up to half your level rounded up, decided when the ritual is initiated. A ritual always takes at least 1 hour to perform, and often longer. While a ritual is a downtime activity, it’s possible—albeit risky—to perform a ritual during exploration with enough uninterrupted time. A ritual’s casting time is usually listed in days. Each day of casting requires 8 hours of participation in the ritual from all casters, with breaks during multiday rituals to allow rest. One caster can continue a multiday ritual, usually with some Light chanting or meditation, while the other casters rest. All rituals require material, somatic, and verbal components throughout their casting time.

Learning Rituals

Learning a ritual does not count against any limits on spells in your spell repertoire or on any other normal spellcasting ability. Rituals are never common, though if you look hard, you can probably find someone who can perform an uncommon ritual for you. They may still be unwilling to teach it to you.


A ritual’s Cost entry lists valuable components required to cast the ritual. If a ritual doesn’t have any such components, it won’t have a Cost entry. The cost is consumed when you attempt the primary skill check. Costs are often presented as a base cost multiplied by the target’s level and sometimes the spell’s level. If the target’s level is lower than 1, multiply the cost by 1 instead. Heightened versions that increase the base cost multiply it by the target’s level or another value as appropriate. Most rituals that create permanent creatures, such as create undead, use costs based on the level of the spell, as presented on Table 7–1.

Secondary Casters

Many rituals need additional secondary casters, who also don’t need to be able to cast spells. Unlike a primary caster, a secondary caster doesn’t need a minimum level or skill proficiency. The Secondary Casters entry, if present, indicates the minimum number of secondary casters required.


At the ritual’s culmination, you must attempt the skill check listed in the Primary Check entry to determine the ritual’s outcome. Primary checks usually have a very hard DC for a level that’s twice the ritual’s spell level. As with other downtime activities, fortune and misfortune effects can’t modify your checks for the ritual, nor can bonuses or penalties that aren’t active throughout the process.

The GM can adjust the DCs of rituals, add or change primary or secondary checks, or even waive requirements to fit specific circumstances. For example, performing a ritual in a location where ley lines converge on the night of a new moon might make a normally difficult ritual drastically easier.

Secondary Checks

Often, a ritual requires secondary checks to represent aspects of its casting, usually with a standard DC for a level twice the ritual’s spell level. A different secondary caster must attempt each secondary check. If there are more secondary casters than checks, the others don’t attempt any.

Secondary casters attempt their checks before you attempt the primary check; no matter their results, the ritual proceeds to the primary check. Secondary checks affect the primary check depending on their results.

Critical Success You gain a +2 circumstance bonus to the primary check.

Success No bonus or penalty.

Failure You take a –4 circumstance penalty to the primary check.

Critical Failure As failure, and you reduce the degree of success of the primary skill check by one step.

Table 7–1: Creature Creation Rituals
Creature Level Spell Level Required Cost
–1 or 0 2 15 gp
1 2 60 gp
2 3 105 gp
3 3 180 gp
4 4 300 gp
5 4 480 gp
6 5 750 gp
7 5 1,080 gp
8 6 1,500 gp
9 6 2,100 gp
10 7 3,000 gp
11 7 4,200 gp
12 8 6,000 gp
13 8 9,000 gp
14 9 13,500 gp
15 9 19,500 gp
16 10 30,000 gp
17 10 45,000 gp


A ritual’s effect depends on the result of the primary check.

If an effect lists a save DC, use your spell DC for the ritual’s magic tradition (or 12 + your level + your highest mental ability modifier, if you don’t have a spell DC).

Rituals By Level

1st-Level Rituals
Abyssal Pact You attempt to conjure other demons to assist you.
Angelic Messenger You transport yourself to either a celestial plane or a world on the Material Plane where worshippers of your patron can be found.
Infernal Pact You make an appeal to a powerful devil, asking it to bind some of its subordinates to your service.
2nd-Level Rituals
Animate Object You transform the target into an animated object.
Consecrate You consecrate a site to your deity, chanting praises and creating a sacred space.
Create Undead You transform the target into an undead creature.
Inveigle You win over the target’s mind, causing it to see you as a close and trusted friend and look upon your every suggestion as reasonable.
3rd-Level Rituals
Geas You enforce a magic rule on a willing target, forcing it to either perform or refrain from carrying out a certain act.
4th-Level Rituals
Atone You attempt to help a truly penitent creature atone for its misdeeds, typically actions contrary to your deity’s alignment or anathema to your deity.
Blight You twist and stunt plants in the area, causing them to wither.
Plant Growth You cause the plants within the area to be healthier and more fruitful.
5th-Level Rituals
Call Spirit You tear the veil to the afterlife and call a spirit from its final resting place.
Planar Ally You call upon your deity to grant you aid in the form of a divine servitor.
Resurrect You attempt to call forth the target’s soul and return it to its body.
6th-Level Rituals
Awaken Animal You grant intelligence to the target, transforming it into a beast.
Commune You call upon an unknown planar entity to answer questions.
Commune with Nature You call upon the primal spirits of nature to answer questions.
Planar Binding You call forth an extraplanar creature.
Primal Call You craft a faerie circle to call a nearby creature of nature
7th-Level Rituals
Legend Lore You attempt to learn useful legends about a particular subject.
8th-Level Rituals
Control Weather You alter the weather.
Freedom You perform a ritual to free a creature imprisoned, petrified, or otherwise put into stasis.
Imprisonment You perform a ritual to imprison a creature in one of several forms.
Section 15: Copyright Notice

Pathfinder Core Rulebook (Second Edition) © 2019, Paizo Inc.; Designers: Logan Bonner, Jason Bulmahn, Stephen Radney-MacFarland, and Mark Seifter.