Home >Creatures >

Snapping Flytrap

Snapping Flytrap Creature3

N Large Mindless Plant

Senses Perception +7; tremorsense (imprecise) 30 feet

Skills Athletics +11, Stealth +10 (+13 in undergrowth)

Str +2, Dex +3, Con +5 Int -5, Wis +2, Cha -2

AC 18; Fort +12, Ref +8, Will +7

HP 50; Immunities mental; Weaknesses fire 5; Resistances acid 5

Quick Capture [reaction] Trigger A creature hits or touches the flytrap. Effect The flytrap makes a leaf Strike against the triggering creature. If it hits, the creature is grabbed in that leaf.

Speed 15 feet

Melee [one-action] leaf +11 (reach 10 feet), Damage 1d8+2 piercing plus 1d6 acid and Improved Grab

Focused Assault [two-actions] The flytrap attacks a single target with both its leaves. The flytrap makes one leaf Strike. On a success, the flytrap deals the damage from one leaf Strike plus an additional 1d8 damage for every leaf beyond the first. On a failure, the flytrap deals the damage from one leaf Strike, but it can’t use Improved Grab. It deals no damage on a critical failure. This counts toward the flytrap’s multiple attack penalty as a number of attacks equal to the number of leaves the flytrap has.

Hungry Flurry [two-actions] The flytrap makes two leaf Strikes at a -2 penalty, each against a different target. These attacks count toward the flytrap’s multiple attack penalty, but the multiple attack penalty doesn’t increase until after it makes all its attacks.

Swallow Whole [one-action] (attack) Medium, 1d8+1 bludgeoning plus 1d6 acid, Rupture 5


The snapping flytrap is a ravenous, carnivorous plant that is quick to bite at any creature that passes by. Snapping flytraps typically have two sets of tooth-edged leaves, each measuring 3 feet wide, at the end of 10-foot-long stalks.

Section 15: Copyright Notice

Pathfinder Bestiary (Second Edition) © 2019, Paizo Inc.; Authors: Alexander Augunas, Logan Bonner, Jason Bulmahn, John Compton, Paris Crenshaw, Adam Daigle, Eleanor Ferron, Leo Glass, Thurston Hillman, James Jacobs, Jason Keeley, Lyz Liddell, Ron Lundeen, Robert G. McCreary, Tim Nightengale, Stephen Radney-MacFarland, Alex Riggs, David N. Ross, Michael Sayre, Mark Seifter, Chris S. Sims, Jeffrey Swank, Jason Tondro, Tonya Woldridge, and Linda Zayas-Palmer.